Georgia Association of Zoning Administrators


February 4, 2009

UGA Continuing Education Center

Athens, Georgia



Board Members in Attendance:

          Tom O’Bryant

Nancy Seegar

Norman Pope

Randy Mannino

Sharyn Darlington 

Darryl Simmons

Steven Scholar


Board Members Absent:

Ken Patton

Duane Treadon

          Judy Garrett


Others in Attendance:

          Pauletta Rogers - UGA

          Richard Osborne - GAZA Member


   President Tom O’Bryant called the meeting to order at 5:08 p.m.


    After reviewing the minutes from the August 15, 2008, Board Meeting, 

   Nancy Seegar made a motion, seconded by Darryl Simmons, to approve

   the minutes as written.  Unanimous approval.


   The financial statement was distributed to all in attendance.  After

   review and discussion, Nancy Seegar made a motion, seconded by

   Randy Mannino, to approve the financial report.  Unanimous approval.


  Richard Osborne made a presentation to the Board concerning the

  updated website and conducted a demonstration of the new site. 

  Richard was commended for his dedication and hard work to get the

  website updated and more “user friendly”.


   Ken Patton, Chairman of the Nominating Committee, submitted a written

   report to the Board concerning the upcoming Board positions to be

   open in February, 2009.  The report indicated that the committee would

   place in nomination the names of Randy Mannino and Steve Scholar,

  current Board members, to continue in their duties for an additional four

   year term beginning February, 2009, and ending February 2013. Other

   members of the Nominating Committee were Scott Morgan and Richard




   After reviewing the program and speakers for the Winter 2009

  Conference, Board members were assigned or volunteered to introduce

  the speakers for the upcoming conference.  Pauletta Rogers reported to

  the Board that we currently had 122 people registered for the

  Conference with 18 being registered as first-time attendees.  In

  comparison with previous Winter Conferences, it appears that

  registrations are down about 25%.


   Due to the low number of registrations, the proposed give-away of a

   light windbreaker was too costly, and a small memo book with wallet

   sleeves was substituted.  Bingo will be the entertainment for Thursday

   evening with Steve Scholar doing the play-by-play.  Dinner for Thursday

   evening will begin at 7:00 p.m. followed by a raffle for the giveaways

   and bingo with more than $1200.00 of prizes following.


   Discussion was held concerning GAZA’s ongoing efforts to become a

  certified AICP CM provider.  Due to an extremely heavy workload and

  unexpected staff cuts, Ken Patton will be unable to continue in his

  duties as the coordinator of that program.  Sharyn Darlington made a

  motion, seconded by Randy Mannino, to appoint Nancy Seegar to that

  post.  Motion passed unanimously.  Nancy will assume her additional

  duties as the GAZA AICP CM coordinator immediately.


   Discussion was also held concerning the need for a membership

   committee.  Solicitation of the general membership for volunteers to that

   Committee will be made during the business meeting.


   Summer Conference will be held in Savannah from August 12th thru

   14th.  The host facility will be the Marriott located on the Riverfront.


   The next scheduled Board meeting will be on Friday, March 20, 2009,

   beginning at 11:00 a.m. in Eatonton.  More information as to place will

   be provided later.


   Meeting was adjourned at 6:17 p.m.