Georgia Association of Zoning Administrators

P. O. Box 1041

Jasper, Georgia  30143

This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.


Business Meeting

February 5, 2009

Athens, Georgia



President Tom O’Bryant called the Annual Winter Business Meeting of GAZA to order at 12:06 p.m.


Announcements were made and all Board members in attendance were asked to stand and be recognized.


Minutes of the business meeting held on 7-17-08 had been distributed to all members at registration.  A motion by Richard Osborne, seconded by Scott Morgan, to adopt the minutes as written was adopted unanimously


The current financial report was distributed to all members present.  Treasurer Norman Pope provided details on revenues and expenses to the general membership.  Albert Studstill made a motion, seconded by Nancy Seegar, to accept the financial report.  Motion passed unanimously.


The Nominations Committee delivered their recommendations to the general membership.  Scott Morgan presented their recommendations concerning two four year positions on the Board of Directors to run from February, 2009 thru February 2013.  Randy Mannino and Steve Scholar currently hold those positions and the recommendations was that the two men continue to serve since they had indicated a desire and willingness to serve.  A motion by Randolph Scott, seconded by Jackie Carver, to accept the report from the Nominations Committee was made.  The general membership approved this motion unanimously.  Nominations were opened to the floor but none came forth.  Randy Mannino and Steve Scholar were elected unanimously.


Members were reminded about the availability of the Betty Gecoma Annual Scholarship.  Application forms are available at the conference as well as the GAZA website.  Deadline for applications this year will be April 30, 2009.


Richard Osborne delivered an informational demonstration on the revised and upgraded GAZA website and encouraged members to utilize this resource.  He also encouraged members to advise him or Duane Treadon of any changes or additional information that might be useful on the website.


Nancy Seegar presented a report to the members concerning the ongoing process of obtaining certified provider status for AICP CM Credits.  She is now the coordinator of that program and should have everything approved prior to the Summer 2009 Conference.


President O’Bryant announced that the Summer Conference will be in Savannah at the Marriott Riverfront beginning August 12 and running thru August 14, 2009.


Meeting was adjourned at 12:28 p.m.