Georgia Association of Zoning Administrators


February 3, 2010

Athens, Georgia


Board Members in Attendance:

          Tom O’Bryant

Nancy Seegar

Norman Pope

Randy Mannino

Sharyn Darlington 

Duane Treadon

Ken Patton


Board Members Absent:

Steven Scholar

Darryl Simmons


Others in Attendance:

          Pauletta Rogers – UGA

          Chrissy Marlow - UGA         


President Tom O’Bryant called the scheduled board meeting of GAZA to order at 4:12 p.m.


After reviewing the minutes of the board meeting held on September 25, 2009, in Eatonton, Georgia, Nancy Seegar made a motion, seconded by Randy Mannino, to accept the minutes as written.  Unanimous approval.


After review of the current financial report presented by Norman Pope, Duane Treadon made a motion, seconded by Nancy Seegar, to accept the financial report.  Unanimous approval.


Sharyn Darlington gave a short report on the work of the Membership Committee and how important it is to get all members involved in growing our membership.


The Nominating Committee proposed the following slate of officers for 2010-2011: 

President:                       Nancy Seegar

Vice-President:                Randy Mannino

Secretary/Treasurer:       Norman Pope


The Board position currently held by Randy Mannino which is set to expire in 2013 would be filled by Allison Slocum.  This proposed slate of officers and board  position to be presented to the general membership at the business meeting of the association on February 4, 2010.  Ken Patton made a motion, seconded by Nancy Seegar, to accept the proposal from the nominating committee.  Unanimous approval.


A general discussion was held regarding membership and conference attendance.  With numbers declining in both membership and conference attendance due to economy and restricted budgets, it was decided that the Association might need to merge the two conferences into one for 2011.  A decision will be made at the Summer Conference scheduled for July 21-23, 2010, at the Sea Palms Resort located at St, Simons Island, Georgia.


The Certification Committee, chaired by Nancy Seegar, provided information to the board concerning their meetings with UGA staff and the process necessary to establish a formal certification program for GAZA.  A motion was made by Ken Patton, seconded by Randy Mannino, for the committee to continue their work and present more information and options to the board at a future meeting.  Motion passed unanimously.


Discussion was held concerning GAZA being a certified continuing education provider for AICP credits and was the objectives of the Association being met in providing this service.  A motion was made by Randy Mannino, seconded by Ken Patton, to reconvene the AICP committee to evaluate the program.  Motion passed unanimously.


Board members were designated to introduce our speakers for the Winter Conference 2010 program. 


The entertainment for Thursday evening will be bingo with prizes to be purchased by the Association.


Richard Osborne will be recognized during the business meeting for his outstanding work on the GAZA website and his valuable contributions to our Association.


A motion was made by Norman Pope, seconded by Ken Patton, to have the GAZA bylaws posted on the website so that all members would have access to the bylaws.  Motion passed unanimously.


The next scheduled board meeting will be held on Thursday, March 25, 2010, beginning at 11:00 a.m.  The meeting will be held at Sharyn Darlington’s office in Eatonton, Georgia.


With no further business to transact, the President adjourned the meeting at 5:40 p.m.